Wednesday, 17 February 2016

Win or Lose, Do it Fairly

Win or Lose, Do it FairlyBorussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been named 2015 CAF African Footballer of the Year, thrashing competition from Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure and Swansea City forward Andre Ayew.   The crowning of Aubameyang as Africa's best footballer in the year 2015 was done at a well-attended gala held in the Nigerian capital Abuja – which was the high point of the event which had top football representatives, including FIFA acting president Issa Hayatou who doubles as CAF president in attendance.  

Yaya Toure says the decision not to award him the African Footballer of the Year for a fifth successive year has brought "shame to Africa". Toure, who has already been named BBC African Footballer of the Year for 2015, had extensively been tilted to scoop a fifth consecutive honour. But the votes from Africa's national team coaches/technical directors ruled Aubameyang the winner instead, with 143 points to Toure's 136.  

"I am very, very disappointed. It's sad to see Africa react like this, not giving any importance to African (competitions)," the 32-year-old said. "I think it brings shame on Africa. It is indecent. What can we do? We, Africans, we do not show that Africa is important in our eyes. We prioritise external achievements over our own continent. It is lamentable."   Toure had earlier said: "I'm quite disappointed, but I don't want to complain too much. I just want to give credit to Aubameyang - you've been doing brilliantly well this year."

The 26-year-old is the player from Gabon to win the award and the first individual other than Toure to win it since Samuel Eto'o in 2010. Aubameyang has been on fire for Dortmund over the last 12 months, predominantly in the latter half of the year when he opened up the 2015/16 season with 24 goals in all competitions. On the international scene, his Gabon side failed to make it past the group stage of the Africa Cup of Nations at the start of the year.   In the women football category, Cameroonian Gaelle Enganamouit, was also crowned female footballer of the year. Nigeria's duo of Victor Osimhen and Oghenekaro Etebo, who both play in the country's Under-23 team, respectively won the Youth Player of the Year and Most Promising Talent awards at the ceremony. Read More....


Post a Comment