Tuesday, 9 August 2016

Ecotourism Kenya announces the 2016 Warrior Award long list of nominees

Ecotourism Kenya announces the 2016 Warrior Award long list of nomineesNairobi, Kenya: Ecotourism Kenya has released the long list of nominees who will be contesting for the Eco Warrior Awards in 2016.  The Award ceremony is held annually to recognize exceptional achievers in ecotourism best practises in Kenya. The Awards recognizes efforts, innovations and exceptional achievements for promoting responsible tourism and enhancing tourism sustainability which directly conserves the natural environment linked to local communities through mutually beneficial and equitable partnerships. Therefore, the awards aim to celebrate ecotourism best practises in different tourism sectors and tourism set ups in Kenya. Eco-Warriors Awards truly recognized these unsung heroes and heroines for their effort to promote responsible and sustainable tourism in Kenya.

To recognize the winners, Ecotourism Kenya partnering with Kenya Tourism Board (KTB) will host the 11th Edition of the Eco-Warriors Award Ceremony & Gala Night on the theme Sustainable Tourism: Our Diversity, Our Strength on 14th October 2016 at the newest 5-Star Hotel in Nairobi - Radisson Blu - Upperhill. 
The nomination process for the Eco Warrior Awards closed on 1st August 2016.  Under the 11 categories, we received a total of 55 nominees as follows:

1. 2016 Private Conservancy of the Year Award 
1.    Kaimosi Conservancy- Kakamega 
2.    Borana Conservancy- Laikipia North 
3.    Galana Conservancy - Watamu
4.    Ol Pejeta Conservancy- Laikipia  
5.    Ol Jogi Conservancy- Laikipia County
6.    Tsavo Conservancy- Taita Taveta county 
2. 2016 Community Conservancy of the Year Award 
1.    Ol Kinyei Conservancy – Masai Mara
2.    Olderkesi Conservancy –Narok County  
3.    Ole Lentile   Trust – Laikipia North 
4.    Lower Tana Delta – Tana River County
5.    Tawi Conservancy –Amboseli
3. 2016 Ecotourism Ecorated Facility of the Year - Lodge 
1.    Elkarama Eco-lodge – Nanyuki (Laikipia County)
2.    Olare Kempinski- Olare Motorogi Conservancy
3.    Tawi lodge –Kilotome Conservancy (Kajiado County)     
4.    Ol Tukai Lodge- Amboseli National Park
5.    Sirikoi  Lodge - Lewa Wildlife Conservancy ( Nanyuki)
6.    Saasab Lodge- Westgate conservancy ( Samburu County)
4. 2016 Ecotourism Ecorated Facility of the Year – Tented Camp 
1.    Porini Amboseli Camp - Amboseli ( Kajiado County)
2.    Cottars 1920’s Safari Camp – Olderkesi Community Ranch (Narok County)
3.    Samburu Intrepids – Samburu county 
4.    Mara Plains Tented Camp – Mara National Reserve
5.    Ekorian’s Mugie Camp -  Rumuruti ( Laikipia County)
6.    Serena Sweetwaters Tented Camp – Nanyuki (Laikipia County)
7.    Lake Elementaita Serena Camp – Soysambu Gilgil
8.    Basecamp Masai Mara – Masai Mara
9.    Kilima Camp -Masai Mara 
5. 2016 Ecotourism Ecorated Facility of the Year – Hotel/Serviced Apartment   
1.    Serena Beach Hotel & Spa – Mombasa 
2.    Turtle Bay Beach Club – Watamu Read more.....


Post a Comment